L. Frank Baum

Lyman Frank Baum (May 15, 1856 May 6, 1919) was an American author best known for his children’s books, particularly The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and its sequels. He wrote 14 novels in the Oz series, plus 41 other novels (not including four lost, unpublished novels), 83 short stories, over 200 poems, and at least 42 scripts. He made numerous attempts to bring his works to the stage and screen; the 1939 adaptation of the first Oz book became a landmark of 20th-century cinema.
Born and raised in upstate New York, Baum moved west after an unsuccessful stint as a theater producer and playwright. He and his wife opened a store in South Dakota and he edited and published a newspaper. They then moved to Chicago, where he worked as a newspaper reporter and published children’s literature, coming out with the first Oz book in 1900. While continuing his writing, among his final projects he sought to establish a movie studio focused on children’s films in Los Angeles, California.
His works anticipated such later commonplaces as television, augmented reality, laptop computers (The Master Key), wireless telephones (Tik-Tok of Oz), women in high-risk and action-heavy occupations (Mary Louise in the Country), and the ubiquity of clothes advertising (Aunt Jane’s Nieces at Work).


eBooks: A Kidnapped Santa Claus | American Fairy Tales | Baum’s Complete Stamp Dealers Directory | Captain Salt in Oz | Daughters of Destiny | Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz | Dot and Tot of Merryland | Glinda of Oz | Handy Mandy in Oz | John Dough and the Cherub | Little Wizard Stories of Oz | Mary Louise Adopts a Soldier | Mary Louise Solves a Mystery | Mary Louise and Josie O’Gorman | Mary Louise in the Country | Mother Goose in Prose | Ozma of Oz | Phoebe Daring | Policeman Bluejay | Queen Zixi of Ix | Rinkitink In Oz | Sky Island | The Book of the Hamburgs | The Boy Fortune Hunters in China | The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan | The Boy Fortune Hunters in the South Seas | The Daring Twins | The Emerald City of Oz | The Enchanted Island of Yew | The Last Egyptian | The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus | The Lost Princess of Oz | The Magic of Oz | The Marvellous Land of Oz | The Master Key | The Patchwork Girl of Oz | The Road to Oz | The Royal Book of Oz | The Scarecrow of Oz | The Sea Fairies | The Silver Princess in Oz | The Surprising Adventures of the Magical Monarch of Mo and His People | The Wishing Horse of Oz | The Woggle-Bug Book | The Wonderful Wizard of Oz | Tik-Tok of Oz

Works by L. Frank Baum: